Ockeghem@600 Concert 12: Requiem

Saturday, Oct. 15, 3:00 pm
Tickets $10-$87

Buy Tickets

First Church in Cambridge, Congregational
11 Garden Street, Cambridge
Parking info >

One of the master’s most celebrated and mysterious creations, the earliest surviving polyphonic setting of the Requiem Mass, together with motets honoring Ockeghem by Antoine Busnoys and Johannes Lupi (or possibly Lupus Hellinck).

Johannes Ockeghem (c. 1420-1497): Missa pro defunctis (Requiem)
Antoine Busnoys (c. 1430-1492): In hydraulis
Johannes Lupi (c. 1506-1539) or Lupus Hellinck (1493/4-1541): Ergo ne conticuit
     Text by Erasmus of Rotterdam (late 1460s-1536)

Free pre-concert talk by Sean Gallagher (New England Conservatory) at 2:15 pm.
Doors and box office open at 2 pm.

Kim Leeds & Sophie Michaux, cantus
Jason McStoots, James Reese, Aaron Sheehan, Sumner Thompson, tenor
Paul Guttry & David McFerrin, bassus

All concert dates, programs and personnel are subject to change without notice.

Ticket purchases are non-refundable.

Doors open at 2:00 PM. If needed for mobility, use office entrance next to the playground on Garden Street; all others please use main entrance to the sanctuary.

Image: Funeral procession of Charles VI of France, from Jehan Charetier, La cronicque du temps de tres chrestien roy Charles, septisme de ce nom, roy de France (15th century): Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, MS fr. 2691, f. 1r. Courtesy of the Bibliothèque nationale de France; used by permission.