Skip to main content

Ockeghem@600 Concert 12: Requiem

Saturday, Oct. 15, 3:00 pm
Tickets $10-$87

Ticket sales for this concert have closed


First Church in Cambridge, Congregational
11 Garden Street, Cambridge
Parking info >

One of the master’s most celebrated and mysterious creations, the earliest surviving polyphonic setting of the Mass for the Dead (known as the Requiem from the first word of the introit), together with motets honoring Ockeghem by Antoine Busnoys and Johannes Lupi – or, more likely, Lupus Hellinck.

Johannes Ockeghem (c. 1420-1497): Missa pro defunctis (Requiem); Il ne m’en chault; Missa De plus en plus: Agnus dei
Antoine Busnoys (c. 1430-1492): In hydraulis; Ma damoiselle, ma maistresse
Johannes Lupi (c. 1506-1539) or Lupus Hellinck (1493/4-1541); text by Erasmus of Rotterdam (late 1460s-1536): Ergo ne conticuit

Free pre-concert talk by Sean Gallagher (New England Conservatory) at 2:15 pm.
Doors and box office open at 2 pm.

Kim Leeds & Sophie Michaux, cantus
Jason McStoots, James Reese, Aaron Sheehan, Sumner Thompson, tenor
Paul Guttry & David McFerrin, bassus
Scott Metcalfe, fiddle & harp

All concert dates, programs and personnel are subject to change without notice.

Ticket purchases are non-refundable.

Blue Heron is pleased to be participating in the Card to Culture program by extending free tickets to EBT, WIC, and ConnectorCare cardholders.
Instructions for claiming a ticket via your card may be found by locating Blue Heron on’s list of Card to Culture Organizations for the Greater Boston Area

Doors open at 2:00 PM. If needed for mobility, use office entrance next to the playground on Garden Street; all others please use main entrance to the sanctuary.

Image: Funeral procession of Charles VI of France, from Jehan Charetier, La cronicque du temps de tres chrestien roy Charles, septisme de ce nom, roy de France (15th century): Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, MS fr. 2691, f. 1r. Courtesy of the Bibliothèque nationale de France; used by permission.